A petrolhead’s New Year’s resolutions

2017 has arrived with a great sigh of relief. 2016 was not a great year for the world; the number of celebrity deaths from the gorilla Harambe to Star Wars legend Carrie Fisher, the wars in the Middle East, the refugee crisis in Europe, Brexit, the demonetisation in India, and Trump winning the elections in the USA, all these had a massive impact on the already flagging year that was 2016. There was upheaval in the car industry too with the Dieselgate scandal and its fallout including Audi bowing out of the World Endurance Championship and Volkswagen exiting the World Rally Championship.

The year wasn’t one of my best either. Besides not having driven a car for more than a year due to various reasons including a serious lack of funds, it was only towards the end of the year that I started this blog that epitomises my love of cars. I want 2017 to be different. Hence the New Year’s resolutions. I know that most resolutions are forgotten by February or March, but this year has special significance to me. On this day, I have turned 28; in other words, it has been 10 years since I entered adulthood and looking back at the previous decade is painful to say the least.

With this in mind, I’ve jotted down some of my goals and resolutions for the coming year:

The loss that accompanied the lack of driving during 2016 has been somewhat soothed by writing this blog. Hence I will continue to pen down my thoughts about various car related themes and you can look forward to more madcap rants, obscure facts, and general car knowledge in 2017.

carquirks-screenshot
(Image source: Author’s own screenshot)

By mid-2017 I will have my own car. While I’m not certain I will be in the UK by mid-2017, if I am, then I will buy a used Honda S2000. From my previous posts and my Juvenile Petrolheads tribe on DRIVETRIBE, my readers will know that I am a huge fan of roadsters. The S2000 is a brilliant example, more powerful than even the current generation MX-5 and a bit more difficult to handle, it will help me to hone my skills and indulge the JDM nut in me.

Honda S2000
(Image source: Wikipedia Commons)

If I will move back to India, I will buy the same Tata Nano that I reviewed earlier. I had made a promise last year that I would buy the car and mod it, turn it into a sleeper. The Super Nano modified by JA Motorsport inspired me to create a hot hatch out of this quirky little car. While it has been sold to a third party, I will find it and buy it back.

https://www.drivetribe.com/embed/Dr5PTRs5S8Cx2zu5hXO7jA?postId=Xu-3ilP8QuSm4x3ICiBSiQ

I will learn to drift. While I have some experience making the rear of a car wag (purely by accident and karts not included), I have not mastered the art of power sliding. As I want to develop my driving skills to a higher level having already got the hang of heel-toe and blipping on downshifts, I feel that this will definitely be a step forward. An addition resolution is if I have achieved a certain degree of prowess with drifting, I will practice left-foot braking as well. I promise I will find a safe place to do these things and not on a public road.

I will take a road trip driving at least 1000 miles (1600km). Over the years, I have made many hypothetical plans for road trips; from the Himalayas in the north of India to the southern tip of Kanyakumari, from the northern tip of Scotland to Italy via France and Germany, follow the western coast of the USA from Seattle to Los Angeles. I will start saving and take the time out to make it happen.

road-trip
The Himalayas and the Western coast of the USA. A massive road trip is in the offing this year! (Image source: Wikipedia Commons)

All these resolutions are in effect meant to say one thing: 2017 will not be like 2016. Happy New Year and hope you have a cartastic year ahead. I know I will.

One thought on “A petrolhead’s New Year’s resolutions

Leave a Reply

